[Click for larger view]
As you can see from the above picture I made a few dollars using Amazon Affiliates as a monetization strategy. Let me be clear that I was not actively using this as a core piece of my overall financial strategy but very much a passive one.
In other words, occasionally I would promote a book that I had just completed reading and shared it via Twitter or my blog. Over the course of 1 year I converted nearly 100 items making nearly $100. Not bad, right?
It’s quite reasonable to believe that if I were to actively begin executing strategically with Amazon Affiliates that I’d be able to make significantly more (and some make a lot of money via Amazon).
Here’s a look at my actual ‘Click and Conversion’ rate:
5.32% is a so-so conversion rate. I’ve heard of people with some crazy-high double-digits! These bloggers have significant influence on their community and are extremely strategic and wise about the products they endorse and share. They might only share one, two, or even just three a year and make tens of thousands of dollars on those three recommendations!
One great number was a 33% conversion rate for a product I shared on Christmas of this year! That was quite nice. Timing is important as well as the product and context of your community!
Hopefully this is an encouragement that it’s both possible and definitely reasonable for even a new blogger to potentially break-even by simply using one affiliate program!
Confused by the terminology? Here’s what Amazon tells us:
- Revenue – The money paid to Amazon or a third-party vendor for the purchase of products.
- Advertising Fees – The sum of base advertising fees and premium fees generated from the sale of products at Amazon.com and its subsidiaries, such as Endless.com and SmallParts.com.
- Clicks – The number of clicks visitors have made on your Associates links.
- Conversion – The number of items shipped divided by the number of clicks on your links, expressed as a percentage. For example, if your links got 200 clicks and those referrals generated 18 shipped items, your conversion would be 18/200=0.09, or 9%.
- Product Link Clicks – The number of clicks visitors have made on product links to specific products you’ve chosen.
So what are your thoughts? Have you tried out Amazon’s Affiliate Program? What’s your experience been?